More eggs but just not on pizza…

deviled eggs

This evening, I decided that I needed to have someone else do the eggs and the pizza. Don’t worry this isn’t some weird blog theme where all posts will involve eggs and pizza or eggs and pizza. But this is deviled eggs from the pizza place 2 Amy’s! Once I started flexing my flexitarian muscles and eating fish, I was able to indulge in these tasty treasures. While the actual eggs are meh, I feel that the delicious green sauce in the middle is the good stuff.

So the Washingtonian does a bit of sleuthing to figure out the recipe and this is what they come up with this.

I would like to change the recipe to make it *gasp* better!?

Here is how I would do the green sauce.  I envision this as a bit less fishy and a bit brighter.  I add acid which allows some flexibility for this to be a green sauce for a pasta, served over rice, or as a marinade for fish or meat.  The possibilities are endless.  So, my modifications to the sauce are in bold below:

1½ cups flat-leaf parsley + 1/2 cup of cilantro
½ cup chives, chopped
1 tablespoon capers +1 Tablepoon of capers
1 whole garlic clove
1 teaspoon coarse mustard+ 1 teaspoon of coarse mustard
½ cup olive oil
12 anchovy filets – 4 anchovy filets
2 tablespoons chopped dill pickle
2 Tablespoons of lemon juice
Place the parsley, chives, capers, garlic, mustard, and olive oil into a food processor. Pulse to chop the ingredients, without letting the mixture emulsify. When the mixture is uniform, add the anchovies and pickle. Pulse again to mix. Chunky is good.

Enjoy the recipe and let me know how you use it!