New year, new pizza!

kale pizza

New Years pizza!  So after the crazy fun night of New Years cooking and after all of the  holiday traveling, I came home to a somewhat empty fridge.  I decided that it was a perfect night for homemade pizza.  The best of the lot was a special pizza that I was able to put together.  This pizza was made with bechamel ( white sauce), sauteed kale, carmelized onions, parmesan cheese, lemon zest, and an egg.

I love the idea of taking what you got and making it work.

Besides funky leftovers, this is what I found in my fridge:

1 small bunch of kale, a lemon, milk, butter, eggs, and parmesan cheese.  Oh and ginger… but I didn’t put that on the pizza!

Start by preheating your oven to 500 degrees.

Parmesean cheese- 1/2 cup

Carmelize onions– I prefer to do it over a lower heat

Zest from half a lemon

Make the bechamel:

Over medium heat in a small saucepan melt 3 Tablepoons of butter and 1 small clove of minced garlic and combine with 2 Tablespoons of flour.  Whisk constantly for 2 minutes and slowly add 3/4 cup of milk.  Continue to whisk until the sauce has thickened enough to spread on the pizza.

Cut the kale roughly and sautee for 3 minutes.

Start with a pizza crust- I tend to make the one out of Baking Illustrated but Trader Joes makes a mean crust for about a buck!

Once the pizza dough is ready, roll out the dough on a floured surface. Brush the flattened dough with bechamel sauce and top with the sauteed kale, and sprinkle parmesan cheese.

Right before the pizza goes into the oven, crack an egg in the center of the pizza.  After about 8 minutes or when the crust is brown, remove from oven and top with the zest of half of a lemon.

And now you eat…

